A singlet’s lament

Valentine’s day is upon us. A poem.
Hebrew follows English.

When I see your wavefunction collapse into the arms of another man, I feel all my eigenvalues degenerate to zero.
You seem so happy together; happier with every measurement, like he is a ladder operator and you, so much more than a good number, are unbounded from above.
Now I am unitary, and can only toss coins into the infinite potential well that glares before me and wish for a steady state. I wanted to take action sooner, I did, I really did but did not dare, for fear I scatter you away.
If only we shared a bound state, I would span your entire space;
If only you’d let me tunnel into your life, the rest of our lifeline would be square integrable;
If only you’d let me, we would form a pair of equal-energy Fermions,
You up and me down,
Or you down and me up,
Or any superposition of the two, our worlds fractionally spinning,
We’d commute left and right, definitely positive and coherent only towards each other;
I could have been your Hermitian conjugate, adjoining to complete you,
Resonating for small angles even when you were offbeat;
We could have been entangled forever, never splitting up,
Connected together no matter the distance,
Our future no longer shrouded by uncertainty;
We could have built a warm and cosy house in the reciprocal lattice, a place to call our own;
We could have lived in spherical harmony, rotational symmetry,
We could have,
We could…
But no more.
There is no vacant orbital.
When I see your wavefunction collapse into the arms of another man, I feel all my eigenvalues degenerate to zero,
And the perturbation in my heart just keeps growing and growing,
And I don’t know how much longer I can keep going
Before they have to clean up the gory remains, the tragedy making front headlines in the newspapers,
“Lethal result for the famous experiment
As scientist places himself as ‘Schrödinger’s cat’”.


כשאני רואה את פונקציית הגל שלך קורסת אל תוך זרועותיו של אדם אחר, אני מרגיש
איך כל הערכים העצמיים שלי מתנוונים.
אתם נראים כל כך שמחים ביחד, מאושרים יותר בכל מדידה, כאילו הוא אופרטור סולם ואת, כל כך הרבה יותר מסתם מספר טוב, מצביך העצמיים לא חסומים.
עכשיו אני אוניטרי, אני יכול רק להטיל מטבעות לבאר הפוטנציאל האינסופי שפעור לפני ולקוות למצב יציב. רציתי לפעול מוקדם יותר, באמת שרציתי אבל לא העזתי, מחשש שאפזר אותך לכל עבר. אומרים שחבר הוא לא קיר פוטנציאל, אבל אני כבר מעורער.
לו רק היינו חולקים מצב קשור, הייתי פורש לך מרחב שלם;
לו רק נתת לי להתמנהר לחייך, שארית חיינו הייתה אינטגרבילית בריבוע;
לו רק נתת לי, היינו יוצרים זוג פרמיונים שווי אנרגיה,
את למעלה ואני למטה,
או את למטה ואני למעלה,
או כל סופרפוזיציה של כל השילובים, עולמינו חצי מסתובב;
היינו מתחלפים מימין ומשמאל, חיוביים בהחלט וקוהרנטים רק אחד כלפי השני;
הייתי יכול להיות הצמוד ההרמיטי שלך, להתלכסן יחד איתך בכל בסיס,
להכנס איתך לרזוננס גם בזוויות קטנות;
היינו יכולים להשזר ולעולם לא להפרד,
להיות תלויים ללא תלות במרחק,
עתידנו המשותף כבר לא עפוף בחוסר וודאות;
היינו יכולים לבנות בקתה קטנה וחמימה בשריג ההופכי, מקום לקרוא לו בית;
היינו יכולים לחיות בהרמוניה ספרית, ללא חשש מסיבובים;
היינו יכולים,
היינו יכולים,
היינו…
היינו יכולים לעשות את כל אלו,
אבל לא עוד.
אין אורביטל פנוי.
כשאני רואה את פונקציית הגל שלך קורסת אל תוך זרועותיו של אדם אחר, אני מרגיש איך כל הערכים העצמיים שלי מתנוונים,
וההפרעה רק גדלה עם הזמן,
ואני לא יודע עוד כמה אוכל להמשיך
לפני שינקו את השאריות המדממות, ובעיתונות יסקרו את הטרגדיה,
“תוצאה קטלנית לניסוי המפורסם
בעוד מדען שם את עצמו בתור ‘החתול של שרדינגר'”

One comment

Leave a Reply

