If I Were a Pirate

חבר לעבודה ביקש ממני לתרגם את השיר “לו הייתי פיראט” מאת השלושרים לאנגלית (וודאי כדי להרשים בחורה כזו או אחרת). החרוזים פחות או יותר נשארו, וגם המקצב, אז בסך הכל אני דיי מרוצה (פרט לשורה המזוויעה, “ודמי יתנפץ אל הדופק”).

If I were a pirate

If I were a pirate, if a princess you were,
Salty eyes dried up to an end,
In a golden ship, to the evil count,
Sailing under her master’s command

If I were a pirate, on the seven seas,
To seek you out in a ship I would wander,
In the equatorial line, in islands warm
I would make you a bed of wildflowers

But a pirate I’m not, nor a raider my dear,
But a single lone man at your gate standing nigh,
All vigil in this lonely night waiting here,
With no sword strapped on to his thigh,
With no sword strapped on to his thigh.

If I were a pirate,
If a pirate I were,
On a vessel of red sterned frame,
If a pirate were I, my singular eye
Would envision you better than twain.

With a sailor’s spyglass, whose barrel is long,
Like a gull I would scan the horizon,
And the bow I would send, to follow the wind,
And my blood will crash to its rhythm.

But a pirate I’m not, nor a raider my dear,
But a single lone man at your gate waiting nigh,
All vigil in this lonely night standing here,
With no sword strapped on to his thigh,
With no sword strapped on to his thigh.

To the fight, to the fight, my ship will take flight
And ship with another will ram,
Here the navy will drown, or I will go down
And my sword in the hearts of her damned.

Then, in cloth of torn wool, I would bring you to isle
To a beach unexplored before thee,
And from the rum, the good crew will drink
And will sing serenades, my pretty.

But a pirate I’m not, nor a raider my dear,
But a single lone man at your gate waiting nigh,
All vigil in this lonely night standing here,
With no sword strapped on to his thigh,
With no sword strapped on to his thigh.

השיר המקורי:

לו הייתי פיראט

לו הייתי פיראט בת מלכה לו היית
שהמלח יבש בעיניה
בספינה מזהב הרוזן הרשע
מפליגה במצוות אדוניה

לו הייתי פיראט על שבעת הימים
לבקשך בספינה אז יצאתי
ובקו המשווה באיים החמים
לך מיטה של פרחי בר הצעתי

אך אני לא פיראט יפתי לא שודד
אלא גבר אחד העומד בשערך
וניצב לו בלילה הזה הבודד
ואין חרב לו על הירך
ואין חרב לו על הירך

לו הייתי פיראט
לו הייתי פיראט
בספינה אדומת ירכתים
לו הייתי פיראט אז עיני האחת
לראותך היא תיטיב מן השתיים

במשקפת מלח ארוכת הקנה
כמו שחף אשקיף אל האופק
וחרטום אז אשלח בעקבות הרוחות
ודמי יתנפץ אל הדופק

אך אני לא פיראט יפתי לא שודד
אלא גבר אחד העומד בשערך
וניצב לו בלילה הזה הבודד
ואין חרב לו על הירך
ואין חרב לו על הירך

אל הקרב אל הקרב ספינתי אז תקרב
וספינה בספינה תתנגח
פה יטבע כל הצי או יגיע קצי
וחרבי בליבות הרוגיה

אז בבגד פרום אגנבך אל האי
שאף איש בחופו לא ירד עוד
ויסבא מן הרום כל הצוות הטוב
וישיר יפתי סרנדות

אך אני לא פיראט יפתי לא שודד
אלא גבר אחד העומד בשערך
וניצב לו בלילה הזה הבודד
ואין חרב לו על הירך
ואין חרב לו על הירך

Leave a Reply

